Dear Blog with the Not-So-Good Pictures (aka this one),

Today was my belated Valentine’s Day gift to Alex (who also happened to receive some amazing news today)!  Although I had initially planned on making crab cakes and lobster rolls, I frankly did not want to make the trek down to Whole Foods in my bought-from-a-kid’s-shoe-store-embarrassingly-bright-red rainboots.  So instead, I made Spicy Shrimp with Bleu Cheese Sauce (shrimp disguised as hot wings); it had great great flavor and perhaps it’s because I decided to follow the Steamy Kitchen way and leave the shells on when I cooked them.  Seriously what kind of picture is this?!  It’s sooo weird…I should think before I push the button on the camera.

I made another appetizer, Shiitake Mushroom Bread Pudding which was deeelicious!  I love bread puddings in any shape and form, and this one was no exception.  But I think what really made it great was its being paired with the spicy shrimp; something needed to undercut the unctuousness of 1/2 cup of heavy cream, cheese, and shiitakes.

For the main, I took inspiration from Steamy Kitchen (but eschewed the veggies she uses) to make Fish en Papillote.  I made this not just b/c it’s so easy to clean up but because I also like the idea of a gift/surprise that comes with this dish.  I also took a lot of liberty with this recipe, omitting the tomatoes and garlic and added in bloodred oranges (so delicious).  It was a nice, clean tasting contrast to the appetizers and very light (which was good b/c the bread pudding was very heavy).

All in all, it was fast (met my under 1 hr. 30 min. rule), delicious, and cheap ($16 for the fish, shrimp, shiitakes, bleu cheese, and lemons).

Some links:

(Recipes) My favorite bread puddings:
Arugula, Bacon, and Gruyere (so delicious, highly recommended)
Pumpkin Bread Pudding (also highly recommended)

(Videos) How to…
Make a healthier version of this dish
Butterfly shrimp

Also on a random note: Columbia be nerdy.  Geesh I went into Butler to work for 2 hours, and it was as full as ever.  It was a Snow Day for goodness sakes!

1 Comment »

  1. Jaden said

    thanks for the shoutout! love that you used blood oranges!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

