Dear Funny People,

WARNING: no actual cooking was done for this post.

The storytellers I love best are the funny ones and so instead of reading in a chronological manner, I picked my way through Alone in the Kitchen with an Eggplant, choosing based on how funny I knew or predicted these authors to be.

Jonathan Ames’ piece on getting food poisoning from cooking bad eggs was hilarious and reminded me of the terrible gastroenteritis of 2009.  Thanks to health services I was left antibiotic-less for a week, and I was pretty sure I would die a very 19th century death as a result of my bowels exploding from all the inflammation.  TMI?  Perhaps.  But I’m still very mad at health services for this.  It is almost impossible to mistaken gastroenteritis for hernia symptoms and yet…they still did.

The other piece I really enjoyed was Ben Karlin’s (of Jon Steward/Stephen Colbert stock).  A quotation that had me cracking up like a mad person: “[My parent’s divorce] forced me to get comfortable working solo in the kitchen at age fifteen.  Early forays included: (2) Boiling rice in a non-Pyrex glass pot and watching it explode all over the kitchen (grains of which would be discovered in an adjacent room five years later, when the house was sold).  Lesson learned: exploding glass is scary.”

Since his was my favorite piece (or is so far), I wanted to make the recipe he contributed (this isn’t a cookbook though, plenty of authors don’t share a recipe): salsa rosa.  But because it requires half a pint of heavy cream per person, I decided to hold off making it until I could fulfill the last step of his recipe: “run a marathon the next day”!

The Recipe (on page 99 of Alone in the Kitchen with an Eggplant)

1 Serving
3 tablespoons olive oil
5 cloves garlic, sliced thin
1 small zucchini, sliced (optional)
3 roma tomatoes, chopped
1 box Pomi diced tomatoes, around 20 ounces
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/2 pint heavy cream
1/3 cup parmigiano cheese, grated
1/3 pound dry pasta
s&p to taste

-heat the oil over medium heat in a medium saucepan
-add garlic and cook till just brown
-add zucchini and cook, till yellowish
-add the fresh and boxed tomatoes
-lower heat a bit and cook until all the tomatoes start breaking down
-add the butter, cheese, and cream in batches.  make sure to reduce it on low heat.
-boil and strain pasta.  toss with a little olive oil.
-pour the salsa rosa over the pasta.  mix.  eat it.
-run a marathon the next day.

Also for anyone interested, book culture now has hardcover Nigella Lawson (“the domestic goddess”) cookbooks on sale for $15.95!

Leave a Reply

